Directory  Resources  Events                                                        

Professional Certification

Canadian economic development professionals have options for becoming certified - the Canadian designation, Ec.D., or the International designation, CEcD, or both.

Statistics show that certified economic development professionals hold salaries an average of 20% higher than those who are not certified.

The Chang School's Certificate in Local Economic Development will successfully prepare the skills and the competencies to address the current and emerging area of LED in the Canadian context.  This includes the basis fundamentals and practical knowledge of current best practices and innovative approaches within the field. Graduating students may apply courses towards the educational requirements for their Ec.D. certification.

Ryerson University

University of Waterloo offers professional economic development courses and or the graduate Local Economic Development program. Many courses are offered in conjunction with the Economic Developers Association of Canada (EDAC). This is the most recognized certification. Ec.D. certification requires completion of two years of courses along with submission of papers and a final exam. 

University of Waterloo 

The Ec.D. certification is administered by the Economic Developers Association of Canada (EDAC).  Re-certification is a mandatory aspect of the program.  Continuing education has been deemed vital for re-certification once every three years.  All Certified Economic Developers will have to demonstrate that they have maintained competence through continuing education, which includes attendance at accredited programs.

Visit the EDAC website for more details!

The CEcD certified by the International Economic Development Council (IEDC).

Late in 2013, a Memorandum of Understanding was signed between IEDC and EDCO.  The MOU commits both parties to developing and delivering training programs for Canadian economic development professionals wishing to become IEDC Certified Economic Developers (CEcDs).

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software